On 12 September 2007 the European Society for Sugar Technology (ESST) was founded in Berlin. The ESST took on the responsibilities of the CITS (Commission Internationale Technique de Sucrerie), but works on a wider basis. CITS was dissolved on 12 September after 58 years of existence. Whereas CITS Membership was restricted to sugar companies, now sugar technologists associations and sup-pliers to the sugar industry are able to join ESST.

Founding members:

British Sugar plc,

Zuckerfabriken Aarberg + Frauenfeld AG ,

Co.Pro. B. Coop. Prod. Bieticoli,

Suiker Unie,

Hellenic Sugar Industry S.A.,

Pfeifer & Langen KG,

Südzucker AG Mannheim/Ochsenfurt,

Soc. Vermandoise Industries SA,

Rogers Sugar Ltd.,

Danisco Sugar A/S,

AGRANA Zucker GmbH,

Nordzucker AG,

Eridania Sadam S.p.A.,

Cristal Union, Krajowa S.A. w Toruniu

Verein Deutscher Zuckertechnicker (VDZ)

Fachverein der Zuckerfabriken Österreichs.